+
you're reading...
Science Field Trip

RV Southern Surveyor crew captures spectacular sunrise in Australian Bight

Day 10’s blog entry provided by Trevor ‘It’s not even strawberry-blonde’ Goodwin.

Tuesday 22 August 2011, 22:22hrs

Today I managed to start my (quasi) 12hr shift on time. This meant that I could squeeze more movies into my day as I would have the work done sooner.  Unfortunately, due to staying up late the previous night watching movies, I was not operating at my usual swiftness.

My workload consisted of electrical repairs to a wire-out counter, dropping a few XBTs, and prepping the EZNet with Matt for today’s station. The work was completed mid-afternoon, allowing me to join Blaise and his terrible movies.

The Augusta station was abandoned due to rough weather and time constraints – we were slowed by the rough weather and pushed behind schedule.This provided yet more movie time.

I have watched more movies in the last 10 days than I have all year. They are starting to blend into one big action-drama-comedy-horror-romance-movie for me.

We also played a quick game of poker, in which Seb and Jason gave all their money to Antony within minutes, leaving Mailie, Johno (P&O), and myself to salivate over his towering pile of chips. The game ended in a vicious battle between Antony and myself in which Antony won (just).

The hunt for Julia’s samples-infiltrator continues. I was the first to be accused, in fact the evidence pointing towards me appears well-grounded. My absence during the Huesten net deployments would seem suspicious, and my alibi cannot be proven. I fear that I have been set-up by someone who knows how to set someone up. Someone who might read Agatha Christie, someone who’s name possibly contains a ‘v’. I am sure that our true saboteur will be uncovered in due course.

On board the RV Southern Surveyor: Sunrise in the Great Australian Bight.

About UWS Field Expeditions

The University of Western Sydney has 40,000 students and 5,000 staff at six campus across Greater Western Sydney. From time to time UWS academic staff and students take their studies out into the field on expeditions of learning and discovery. Join them here...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

UWS News Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

